Camp-In

Montshire’s overnight program is the perfect educational getaway for scout, school, and youth groups. When the museum closes for the night, the adventure begins!

Spend a night exploring the museum – inside and out! In the evening Montshire staff guide your group through three engaging and fun workshops. Drift off to sleep in our large, carpeted Community Room and start the morning with a nature hike through Science Park and along the Connecticut River. Camp-Ins are perfect for first grade through middle school students.

Camp-Ins offered October - early June. See available 2016/2017 dates below.

Eat dinner before you arrive or bring a picnic dinner to enjoy here before your Camp-In begins. An evening snack and breakfast are included as part of the program. Free admission to the museum the following day is included in the Camp-In fee, so you may continue to explore the exhibits for as long as you would like.

Campers receive a Montshire Camp-In patch and a coupon for free admission to the Museum on a future visit.

Evening Workshops

  • StarLab View the night sky up close in Montshire's inflatable planetarium.
  • Kitchen Chemistry Capture the joy of science discovery in this hands-on science investigation.
  • Night Walk (weather dependent) A full sensory experience on one of your trails after dark. Indoor alternative workshop will be held in the event of bad weather or unsafe trail conditions.

Fees

For groups of 25 and more, fees are charged per individual at the rate of $41/child and $36/adult.
A minimum group fee of $1000 is charged to groups of fewer than 25 participants. This fee guarantees your reservation. However, your group will most likely be joined with another group to meet our 50 - 80 participant range per camp-in.

Montshire reserves the right to schedule multiple groups for each Camp-In until the maximum limit is reached.

Information for Participants and Chaperones

For more information on Montshire Museum's Camp-In program, including a schedule and list of gear to bring, download the Camp-In Information page. Chaperones may download the Camp-In Chaperone information page for more details and directions. 

Reservations

We require a minimum of one adult for every eight children. Each Camp-In will have between 50-80 participants. For complete information and to make a reservation, contact the Camp-In coordinator at michael.fenzel@montshire.org, or call the Museum at 802 649-2200.

Available Dates (as of 8/29/2016 - call to confirm). 

Booking available starting October 2016.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Saturday, November 5, 2016

Saturday, November 13, 2016

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Saturday, February 4, 2017

Friday, February 24, 2017

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Saturday, March 4, 2017

Saturday, March 11, 2017

Friday, March 31, 2017

Saturday, April 1, 2017

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Friday, April 21, 2017

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Friday, May 12, 2017

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Friday, June 2, 2017

Saturday, June 3, 2017