Tinkering Lab: Open Studio for Makers

Tinkering Lab: Open Studio for Makers

Build something!

The Tinkering Lab is a new, experimental space where visitors try their hand at engineering whimsical contraptions using real tools and materials. Tinkering Lab activities require cooperation, concentration, and a playful "tinkering mindset": you'll design, test, fail, redesign, and share your creations alongside other participants. Program is designed for adults and families with children age 8 and over. 

Programs vary by date. Some activities include:

Electric Island: visitors build houses and buildings, add electricity to their building for lights and other devices, then add their buildings to a ‘community built’ island city.

Scribble Bots: visitors make moving robots that trace fun patterns with markers using weighted toy motors, batteries, wires, and other everyday materials. 

 

Tinkering Lab Notes: Real Tools Develop Real Skills—the Tinkering Lab uses real tools and small parts and is not recommended for children under 8 years of age. Activities in the Tinkering Lab are designed for in-depth participation; plan on spending 25-45 minutes in the Lab. 

Audience: Families
Cost: Free with Museum admission

Upcoming Dates & Times:

  • Tuesday, August 5, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 6, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, August 7, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, August 8, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, August 9, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, August 10, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Monday, August 11, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, August 12, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Thursday, August 14, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Friday, August 15, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, August 16, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm
  • Sunday, August 17, 2014 11:00am - 4:00pm